“just basic” tea biscuits

IMG_8862aa

I haven’t had a tea biscuit for quite some time, and just recently when I was out at my favourite cafe, I ordered one alongside my green tea. Ever since, I’ve been on this tea biscuit kick (it’s actually only been about 4 days) and can’t wait to whip up my second batch tonight. Trust me, I’m not alone on this, my family seems to be eating them up too.

This recipe is very basic, easy and plain but you can fancy it up any way you like. Go ahead, throw in some raisins or dried fruit, spices like cinnamon, orange or lemon zest. I wanted a bit of a crunch so I sprinkled brown sugar on the tops before baking- baked up great.  Oh, if you’re like me and would rather have your tea biscuits more on the jumbo side than itty-bitty, just double the recipe.

What you need:

(Recipe adapted from Food.com)

2 cups flour
4 teaspoons  baking  powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup milk

IMG_8844a

What you do:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Cut in butter until crumbly.

Add 1/2 cup of milk and mix. Add the last 1/4 cup as needed. Dough should be wet but not sticky.

Roll biscuits into approximately 2 inch (5 cm) balls.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until lightly golden.

Makes about 6-8 biscuits.

IMG_8865a

150

6 thoughts on ““just basic” tea biscuits

Leave a Reply

