“it’s all up to you” chicken burgers

burger1

I really don’t have a recipe for these chicken burgers. They are a total improv when I make them but they grill up fabulously on the barbeque. They’re quick and easy and can be packed with as much flavour as you desire. Choice of seasoning, spices and amounts are completely to your liking.

This is what I do:

* Approximately 2 pounds of ground chicken makes about 5-6 large burgers.

I put fresh ground chicken in a bowl and add a few dashes each of chili seasoning and black pepper (I like spicy). Sometimes I will add a bit of cheese such as shredded cheddar, shredded monterey jack or feta crumbles (any cheese I have on hand). Get the hands in there and mix well. Form into patties and place on the heated grill.

While the burgers are grilling, slice up onion and mushrooms. I use 1 large onion and about 2 handfuls of sliced mushrooms for 5-6 burgers. Place in a sauté pan and drizzle extra virgin olive oil over top. Cook on medium heat until desired tenderness. I cook just until tender but again it’s totally up to you.

When the burgers are done, place in a bun and top chicken with sautéed veg.

Remember: throw in any combination of seasonings you like… it’s all up to you!

8 thoughts on ““it’s all up to you” chicken burgers

Leave a Reply

