breaded and baked tilapia

IMG_5325

I really had no idea what we were having for dinner tonight until I came across fresh tilapia when I was in the grocery store today. I really do enjoy tilapia. It’s low in calories and nearly fat free and I especially like it breaded and baked. It also has a mild flavour; it’s not such a fishy fish. That’s probably why it’s one fish my family will eat too!

Here’s our recipe for 2 fillets.

What you need:

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 cup dry Italian bread crumbs or enough to coat fillets
All-purpose flour, enough to coat fillets
1 egg
1 tablespoon lemon juice
Pinch paprika or to taste to your liking
pepper

What you do:

Foil line a baking sheet and coat with cooking spray.

Crack egg into a bowl. Add pepper, paprika, garlic powder and lemon juice; beat well.

Spread the all-purpose flour and bread crumbs on 2 separate plates.

One fillet at a time; coat in flour, then dip into egg mixture, then into bread crumbs.

Place each fillet on prepared baking sheet.

Bake in the oven until the coating is crunchy and the fish fillets are cooked through. Cooked fish is opaque and easily flakes apart. I baked my fillets at 450 degrees and they were done in about 10-12 minutes.

Tonight I served the tilapia with homemade baked fries and spring mix greens with cherry tomatoes, crumbled blue cheese and extra virgin olive oil balsamic dressing.

10 thoughts on “breaded and baked tilapia

  1. Nice post and thanks for sharing the recipe. I’ll do this sometime since I just usually pan-grill them. 🙂 this will be a great variation. Happy new year, btw.

  2. Oh my gosh that looks so good! I love tilapia, too, but all i ever do with it is make it in a skillet with a little olive oil. I am gonna to do this next time, though. Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

