feta dip

Hello friends! It’s been just over a week since I blogged last and I’m now getting back into the swing of things. All the Christmas prep and festivities have kept me on my toes and especially busy this holiday season. I had a chance to catch up with family that I don’t get to see often enough. It was a wonderful Christmas and I hope it was the same for you too!

An especially nice and thoughtful gift I received this year was from Julia and Jamie. I absolutely love it! They surprised me with an awesome cookbook that they created entirely for me. An array of easy (that’s me!), and tasty recipes. It’s a hard cover book that they designed on Blurb. There’s a variety of starters, entrees, desserts and bev-y recipes. The best part- in amongst the recipes, are photos of family and friends. And what are we doing? Why, eating of course!!

We are currently having a bit of a snow storm here in Peterborough, Ontario. Everything is white, white and white. Julia, Cristina and I are having a well-deserved lazy lounging day, staying cozy and watching the snow fall while the guys are at work. I took a gander through my cookbook which they titled Cooking on the Avenue (makes sense since we live on an avenue) and decided to make a Feta Dip. We needed a baguette so being the trooper that I am, I ventured out in this weather and trudged back with two. One for the dip and the other to have with tonight’s dinner. This Feta Dip was quick, easy and delicious. Along with the dip and baguette, I opened a bottle of wine and us three girls indulged in food and conversation. It was a great afternoon!

IMG_5280

Feta Dip

1- 4oz package of feta cheese. We love feta so I used a bit more.
Grape tomatoes (quartered). I used one pint or 551 ml
1 bunch green onions, chopped
Greek Seasoning. Combine ½ tablespoon oregano, pinch ground cinnamon, pinch nutmeg, couple pinches garlic powder. It’s all to taste so adjust amounts of spices to your liking.
1 baguette

Spread a generous amount of olive oil on a large platter or shallow serving bowl. In a small bowl combine the oregano, cinnamon, nutmeg, garlic powder and set aside. Chop the green onions and tomatoes. In a medium bowl, add green onions, tomatoes, seasoning and small amount of olive oil. Add feta cheese and gently toss. Spread on to prepared platter.

Slice baguette and serve. Great on crackers also.

Happy dipping!

4 thoughts on “feta dip

Leave a Reply

